The Unapologetic Mathematician

Mathematics for the interested outsider

It’s that time again

I’ve made my opinion clear about today. It’s completely based on two accidents. One is the use of decimal notation, and one is the use of the Gregorian calendar. And it reduces mathematics to a caricature, with no real understanding even of its referent.

And now even Rachel is getting in on it, which I figured she probably would. Okay, so Rachel, I’ve got a deal for you: if non-public-policy geekdom is actually of interest to you beyond “One More Thing” fodder, I’d be glad to come on the show next year and explain why these celebrations are actually detrimental. I’ll be waiting for your email.

March 14, 2009 Posted by | rants | 9 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 393 other followers